Hall Of Fame Health Announces Five Additions To Medical Advisory Board


CANTON, OHIO – Hall of Fame Health, a subsidiary of the Pro Football Hall of Fame focused on providing world-class services and solutions to former football players and their families, today announces the addition of five physicians to its esteemed medical advisory board. These physicians, who include a former US Surgeon General, are renowned leaders committed to Hall of Fame Health efforts and represent broad geographies, medical specialties, and areas of interest.
They are

Jerome Adams, MD; Ravi Bashyal, MD, FAAOS; Nicole Christian-Brathwaite, MD; Peggy Duggan, MD; and MaCalus V. Hogan, MD, MBA.

Hall of Fame Health, which launched in early 2020, announced its first medical advisory board shortly thereafter. It includes renowned medical leaders such as James Andrews, MD, and Andrew Dossett, MD, Chairman of the Board.

“This board is passionate about Hall of Fame Health’s mission,” Dossett said. “We are honored to have these phenomenal physicians join our Medical Advisory Board and commit to engaging with the organization and making an impact in the communities we serve. »

Adams was the 20th Surgeon General of the United States. He previously served as the Indiana State Commissioner of Health and currently serves as Director of Health Equity Initiatives at Purdue University. In these roles, he promoted public policies aimed at promoting mental health and well-being and addressing substance abuse.

Bashyal is an internationally recognized and board-certified orthopedic surgeon specializing in minimally invasive hip and knee replacement surgery at NorthShore University HealthSystem, where he serves as Vice President for Patient and Provider Experience, as well as Director of outpatient hip and knee replacement surgery. He holds an academic appointment as Clinical Assistant Professor of Orthopedic Surgery at the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine.

Christian-Brathwaite is a board-certified adult and child and adolescent psychiatrist, nationally recognized for her work in the areas of perinatal and postpartum mental health, trauma-informed care, telepsychiatry, health mental health in communities of color, school psychiatry, implicit biases and racism in mental health. She is CEO and Founder of Well Minds Psychiatry and Consulting Company, PLLC and CMO of Array Behavioral Care. She is a board member of the New England Council of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (NECCAP) and is the Diversity Chair.

Duggan is executive vice president and chief medical officer of Tampa General Hospital. She oversees physician and patient care functions at the 1,041-bed facility in Tampa, Florida, including medical staff services, patient satisfaction and quality of care metrics. She is also a senior member of the Breast Oncology Program at Tampa General Hospital Cancer Institute.

Hogan is a board-certified orthopedic surgeon and chief of foot and ankle surgery at UPMC in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He is a professor and vice chair of the Departments of Orthopedic Surgery and Bioengineering at the University of Pittsburgh. Dr. Hogan has both passion and experience in health care policy and the delivery of quality care. He oversees UPMC’s Orthopedic Centers of Excellence programs and serves as the Senior Medical Director of Orthopedic and Musculoskeletal Care Services for the UPMC Health Plan.

Since its launch, Hall of Fame Health’s Medical Advisory Board has helped the organization bring together some of the nation’s most notable organizations to develop its offerings, from a concierge service to help families navigate and advocate, partnerships with health systems and medical groups, assistance with insurance and benefits issues, one of the most comprehensive behavioral health networks in the country with providers at all levels of care and including a team to help families in times of crisis. Additionally, Hall of Fame Health raises funds for financially challenged individuals who cannot afford care and develops programs that use the football platform to impact and improve overall health in communities across the country.

The Health Hall of Fame’s full Medical Advisory Board:

Andrew Dossett, MD, President
Jerome Adams, MD
James Andrews, MD
Ronnie Barnes, ATC
Ravi Bashyal, MD
Nicole Christian-Brathwaite, MD
Peggy Duggan, MD
Rob Heyer, MD
Stanley Herring, MD
Andrew Heyman, MD
Macalus Hogan, MD
Kenneth Kenyhercz, MD
Michael Rich, MD
John Small, MD
Thomas Sonnanstine, MD


Comments are closed.